For more detailed information, please change to the German version of this website.

crescendo 2022: aufgefühlt [EN]

Présence – Chamber music pieces from B. A. Zimmermann – crescendo

Schott Music Promotion

Teachers of the UdK Berlin and guests perform selected pieces from the exceptional avantgardist of the 1960s.

"Présence: that is the thin layer of ice on which the foot can remain just so long until it breaks in; but while the foot still seems to rest for a fraction of a second, it already breaks, the thin cover, and what remains is the certainty of the pack ice: ahead, the view into the future with a certainty of the ever-renewed present of the splintering of the ice layer and the absurdity that lies in the constantly undertaken attempt to gain a foothold. Thus Présence appears as that present which connects past and future." (Bernd Alois Zimmermann, Interval and Time, p. 105)


Bernd Alois Zimmermann is one of the most distinctive composers of the 20th century. His works have long since gained acceptance outside of circles specializing in new music. This applies not only to his well-known anti-war opera Die Soldaten, which helped him achieve a breakthrough as a composer in the 1960s, but also to his instrumental and chamber music. As literary as his œuvre is, it is equally political. In his works, Zimmermann always links the question of the concept of time with various forms of artistic expression such as literature, dance, radio play and film. In this way he gives musical expression to his present and thus draws a fascinating psychogram of his time. In this concert, teachers of the UdK Berlin, together with guests, devote themselves to Zimmermann's chamber music works of the 1960s and invite the audience to become aware of Zimmermann's presence.



Bernd Alois Zimmermann:

Intercomunicazione per violoncello e pianoforte (1967).

Monologues for two pianos (1960/64)

Présence - Ballet blanc en cinq scènes pour violon, violoncelle et piano (1961)



Sophia Jaffé, violin

Mischa Meyer, violoncello

Björn Lehmann, piano

Norie Takahashi, piano

Mathias Donderer, Speaker

Prof. Dr. Dörte Schmidt, moderator


crescendo is open for everyone! That’s why (almost) all concert are free of charge.

Free ticket reservations are available at

Please visit our website to inform yourself about the current regulations at events of the UdK Berlin.



Künstlerisches Betriebsbüro der Fakultät Musik